2 Comments

Keeping it real

My Bible Study Tools – Personalized Online Bible Study and Bible Reading: Proverbs 13:3 “3.He who guards his mouth preserves his life, But he who opens wide his lips shall have destruction.”
 
Have you ever heard the saying “keepin it real”?  I have heard it several times and even saw a Saturday Night Live skit that portrayed a woman always getting into trouble because she felt she had to “keep it real” all the time.  Her need to Keep things real ultimately lands her in prison.  Sometimes “keepin it real” can be wrong. 

The bible tells us in many places that keepin it real can cause problems in our lives.  I have had the misfortune of learning this first hand.  Please don’t judge me as I share my keepin it real story which happened in bible college.  While leaving work one evening I was in a conversation with a young lady from school that I was in a car-pool with.  There were five of us if I remember correctly.  We were discussing my manager.  More specifically we were discussing her looks.  I thought we was cute while the young lady from school thought… otherwise.  I began feeling attacked (first mistake) because she just would not accept the fact I thought she was cute.  She insisted that it must be out of loyalty since she was my manager.  I told her it was not.  This went on for a few minutes until I decided I needed to “keep it real”.  I finally said “she is better looking than you”.  There was silence.  Did I mention that we had to ride back to school together?  Did I mention that her boyfriend was in our car-pool with us?  Did I mention that her boyfriend was my roommate?  This was not one of my shining moments in life. 

Opening our mouth at the wrong time can be very destructive in life.  With our friends, family, co-workers, neighbors, and the list goes on.  It doesn’t matter why we do it.  We might want to keep it real, or maybe we are just saying “what everyone else wants to say but won’t”.  Sometimes we just want the conversation to be over (I believe this is especially true of men).  Sorry guys, just keepin it real.  What ever the reason we could stand to think before we speak. 

Next time you find yourself wanting to keep things real ask yourself if this is the way you would want people to treat you.

2 comments on “Keeping it real

  1. Thanks, Mike. I needed that!

  2. Haha I am honestly the only comment to this awesome post.

Leave a Reply

