1 Comment

You’re winning, you just don’t know it yet.

You’re winning, you just don’t know it yet.. I know it might sound strange to say something like that. Usually when you are winning you are aware of it. Maybe it’s because we are so ingrained to keep score.

God doesn’t keep score the way we do.
How many times in the bible do we see that God has snatched victory out of the mouth of defeat? Joseph, Gideon, David, Ester, and the list goes on and on.

We have trouble recognizing when this is happening in our lives. Don’t be to hard on yourself though. The disciples didn’t celebrate the crucifixion even though they had already won. Jesus even told them He was just going away for the weekend. I understand the situation was grave. Jesus sweat drops of blood due to the stress. I’m sure I would have cried like a baby if I had been there to witness the events myself. Even though Jesus had to endure the physical, emotional, and spiritual pressures He still understood that God had won. I think now is a good time to say I want to be like Jesus. What about you? Do you want that kind of peace in your life? When I way peace I do not mean serenity. That implies a tranquil type of existence.. That’s not what Jesus offers us. Only a steady I.V. tranquilizer can offer that. Nobody really wants that existence.

Again I say, I want to be like Jesus. I want to have peace when my world is crumbling down around me. I want to know I am winning even when the world, the enemy, and circumstances tell me otherwise. If I were playing basketball and there were only three seconds left in the game, I was down by a million, and I had one last chance to score. I would want to know that if I made this basket it would be worth a million and one points. We have that with Jesus.

The first century disciples had that kind of peace. They had that kind of FAITH. We can have it too. I will be praying with importunity that we both live with that kind of peace in our lives.

One comment on “You’re winning, you just don’t know it yet.

  1. Great post Mike. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

