1 Comment

Pardon Me Your Quran Is Burning

So apparently there have been no Quran burnings in protest on the 9/11 attacks, yet.  Although, I am sure the issue has not been fully resolved since another church, I use the word church loosely, has thrown down the gauntlet and now claims they will burn Qurans.  I don’t see how burning a Quran or a Bible or any other religious text does any good. 

I just noticed that my WordPress spell checker wants to capitalize the Q in Quran, but not the B in Bible…

Paul tells us that just because we have the right to do something doesn’t mean it’s the right thing to do.  Even though the question was specifically about sacrifices, Paul was speaking about our behavior, and I think the analogy applies.  Should we use our “rights” to provoke one another.  The Quran burning is just another example of many who think this way.  Someone has decided to lash out because of some pain caused by another.  We burn a symbol because we cannot punish the one who hurt us.  In the middle east we see this all the time.  We see a flag, a bible or a person burned in effigy.  When you are unable to make your enemy submit to you this is a powerful way to display frustrations. 

This pastor in FL is responsible, but he also has a church of less than fifty members.  The media also shares a large deal of the responsiblity.  I believe the saying goes “If it bleeds is leads.”  The problem here is that the media also shares in the bloodshed in my opinion for making world news of a pastor with fifty followers doing something stupid.  I heard one local radio talk show host explain the media’s place as only reporting what the public wants to hear.  When the media reports the news they are doing their job, but when they sensationalize sensitive events like these it’s like the drug dealer blaming his customer for his life of crime.  I realize I am using an extreme analogy here.  I simply believe we all must look at our motivations with issues that are this sensitive.  Don’t get me wrong.  I am not suggesting anyone

Please forgive me for ranting. Let me try to sum up.

  • I don’t see how burning a Quran or a Bible or any other religious text does any good. It’s disrespectful
  • I don’t see how building a mosque next to ground zero isn’t a slap in the face to the victims of 9/11.  The Japanese have not asked to build a shrine next to Pearl Harbor.  It’s distasteful.
  • I don’t see how anyone who has sensationalized the recent days events can escape some responsiblity.  It’s disgraceful.

 

One comment on “Pardon Me Your Quran Is Burning

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Michael DeNatale, Michael DeNatale. Michael DeNatale said: Pardon Me Your Quran Is Burning: http://wp.me/pqimZ-2P […]

Leave a Reply

