Leave a comment

The Trap Of The Treadmill

We have all gone through the feeling of going no where fast.  That’s the trap of the treadmill at work. The devil likes to catch us in this trap.  While we’re feeling as though we are moving ahead he is able to keep us from fulfilling God’s calling on our lives.

I loved participating in track and field in high school.  I must admit though no matter how fast I ran the best I could hope for was to get back where I started.  Not as depressing as going nowhere on a treadmill, but probably a close second for some.

The trap of the treadmill is far more deceptive than simply running on a treadmill or around a track. We feel as though we are making progress.  Maybe even accomplishing God’s will.  I think one of the best examples of the Trap of the treadmill is “easy monthly payments”. I don’t want to preach on the principles of debt.  I merely make the point that there is no such thing as an easy monthly payment.  The best you can hope for is to get back to where you started.  Just like a treadmill.  When I was in high school I was good at running track.  Even good enough to get a scholarship to college if I applied myself.  The only thing that stood in my way was a car payment.  My parents felt at the time that it would be better for me to have a new car, and that having to make monthly payments would help me learn a good work ethic.  While I learned a good work ethic, I did not earn a scholarship.  I actually had to drop out of track to work enough hours to pay for my car.  I later sold my car so I could afford to pay for college.

Have you hopped on any treadmills in your life? Are you on one now?  You want to make the right decision, but keep finding yourself  unable to fulfill God’s calling.  It’s OK!  The trap of the treadmill is designed to entice you. To make you feel like your making progress.  Instead, you just get tired and eventually you can’t go on.  How many easy monthly payments can you juggle before you can’t go on.  How many bad, but exciting, new relationships will you go through before changing the way you pick partners?

By now your asking how do I avoid this tremendously trying trap that keeps me trekking on a trajectory that travels nowhere? You are wise to do so.  The answer isn’t any easier than it was coming up with that last sentence.  For this trap to work it must keep up a pattern that although repetitious, makes you feel that you are getting ahead.  At least in the beginning.  You need to ask yourself some questions.

  • Does my life look the same as it did a year ago?
  • Am I taking proper consideration before making major decisions in life?
  • Have you consulted trusted advisers?
  • Does the bible have anything to say on the issue?
  • What’s different about this opportunity, this person, this career choice than I have had in the past?
  • Have I prayed, and am I at peace?
Leave a Reply

