Leave a comment

“I Hate Jesus”

“I hate Jesus“.  At least that’s what the bumper sticker said.  I don’t know why he felt he needed to put it on a bumper sticker, but his feelings are profound to say the least.

I am not a big fan of Christian bumper stickers.  The road can be a very tough place to drive the straight and narrow.  “Honk if you love Jesus”.  “Jesus is my co-pilot”.  “Jesus is my pilot”.  “I’m not perfect just forgiven”.  And so on.  While they may be good messages I’ve never heard of someone coming to Christ because of the ministry of a bumper sticker.  Typically what happens is that someone will see our ministry as we cut them off on the road.  That may be part of the message behind this man’s” I hate Jesus” bumper sticker.

There is some good news and hope for this man.  Jesus can work with hate.  Hating means you care.  You are not apathetic.  Apathy is much harder to deal with.  Apathy says I just don’t care.  Hate implies anger with someone.  In this man’s case his hatred for Jesus is something God can work with.

Remember Paul’s conversion in Acts 9:4 He fell to the ground and heard a voice say to him,“Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me?”  Paul Hated Jesus  and His followers, but that was something Christ could work with.  I am not saying in any way that God can not work with anyone He chooses, but He tends to move in the lives of those who are “hot or cold”.  I don’t really know anything else about the man with the “I hate Jesus” bumper sticker except he seems very cold towards God.  In Paul’s case, he was very hot towards towards God but very cold towards Jesus.  Once confronted with the Good News he became one of Christ’s greatest champions.  I hope and pray that Christ will touch my bumper sticker friend.  

If you feel lukewarm towards Christ I pray your faith be renewed, restored, an/or reinvigorated with the fiery passion for Christ.

Posted from WordPress for Android 

Leave a Reply

