2 Comments

Money Money Money

 

The subject of money has come up recently at my church since we are beginning Dave Ramsey‘s Financial Peace University.  So here is my two cents worth before we get started.

Money is referred to over 800 times in the bible.  It’s an important subject to God.  Do we use it to advance the kingdom or for our own advancement.  The two are not mutually exclusive.  You can be wealthy, have nice things and advance the kingdom at the same time. The biblical concern is which master will you serve.  Jesus said you cannot serve both.

Luke 16:13 NIVNo one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.”

This is not a cry to get at your wallet.  This is a wake up call for you to examine it on your own in a judgement free way.  Ask yourself if you are a good steward over it.  

  • Can you have it and not spend it?
  • What percentage of your monthly income is reserved for paying off debt?
  • Could you buy a new kitchen appliance with out going into debt if you needed to?  What about a major car repair?
  • If you had no debt other than a mortgage will your income cover your monthly expenses?
  • Can you give to your church and pay your monthly obligations?  If not, is it due to consumer debt?
Realize too that you can only cut back so much?  If you don’t have a job, or you are under employed, you have an income problem not necessarily a budget problem.  I understand that problem all to well.  If you have a true income problem the solution is far from simple.  Just understand that having income problems is not a reflection of your value to God.  I don’t know why you are going through them, I pray for God’s mercy, grace and favor in your life.
In my life I have had both little and plenty.  When I say I had little I mean the homeless kind of little.  Those times were an income problem.  There were also times  when I had plenty, I spent so much it felt like I had very little.  I blame that on my own budgeting problems.  I have learned to live with less and budget more wisely.  Thanks to my very wise wife who can make a penny scream when she pinches it.  We’re not perfect though.  We could save money sometimes by eating an inexpensive meal at home that an inexpensive meal out, but I would say that we are at least an 8 out of ten when it comes to budgeting.  I guess we’ll find out what Dave says.
What ever your situation is regarding money I pray sincerely that God blesses you with what ever you need!
2 comments on “Money Money Money

  1. I love your description!: who can make a penny scream when she pinches it.
    I’ve never heard it that way before 🙂
    Good luck with the Financial Peace University!

  2. Thanks for the great tips and sharing so generously from your own experience.

Leave a Reply

