Leave a comment

What If The Grass Is Greener

I don’t have a green thumb.  When it comes to lawn maintenance I am all thumbs.  My neighbor John would bleed bluegrass and fescue if he were cut.  His lawn is the nicest in our little sub-division.  I’m not just saying that either.  I have seen our lawns from space and there is no doubt, his is greener.  I’m not in competition with John.  I just don’t want to be an embarrassment.  Sometimes though, when you’re standing next to perfection, anything else seems… pathetic.  

The wide world of sports bares this out fittingly.  How many people remember who lost last year’s Superbowl?  Who did ESPN say was the second greatest athlete of the last century?  Who is the second greatest tennis player, golfer, sprinter???  Most people just don’t think about those things.  The bible however, has a different perspective to offer.

1 Corinthians 9:24 NIV  24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air.27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

Normally I would not put more than one or two verses together, but in this case those four are the minimum needed to get the point across.  Actually I have a few points.  Here they are.

  1. If the grass is truly greener on the other side, you need to cultivate.  I don’t have the landscaping prowess John does, but I really haven’t put much work into it either.
  2. There will always be someone better than you that comes along.  Lance Armstrong did not win the last two Tour de France competitions he competed in.
  3. Your true competitors are yourself and your enemy the devil.  Don’t forget that.  The real prize is eternal.
I could easily write a book on this subject so I need to stop right there for now.  Let me leave you with this thought.  God has given you desires and dreams.  He has also will provide ways for you to achieve them.  Will you take hold of the opportunities he presents to you?  Will you run in such a way as to get your prize.
Leave a Reply

