Leave a comment

Stranded

I was stranded on the side of the road.  I hate being stranded.  Especially at night. Especially in a bad part of town.  I just went through this trifecta.  In the middle of a highway overpass intersection no less.  Talk about fun.  Now I was also late to work.  At least someone stopped to give me a jump.  A gentleman helped me push the car to the side of the road.  But then, his wife was scared of the part of town we were in and they chose to again leave me stranded.  “911 how may I help you”.  Yes I’m stuck on the west bound  corner of Car Jack Expressway and Highway 187.  Can you send help?  Sure, we’ll be there as soon as we can.  Wait… Wait… Wait…  No help.  I’m obviously not writing this on the side of the road so I made it to work.  I pushed my car up a hill, jumped in, let it roll back, put it in reverse, and popped the clutch.  First time I did it in reverse.  I’m the man!

So what’s the moral of this story?

  • Drive a newer car??? No.
  • People who sometimes appear to be Good Samaritanswill let you down?  Maybe, but I wasn’t really phased by it.  just a little surprised that when I looked up they were gone.  At least they helped me get the car to the side of the road.
  • There’s never a cop around when you need one?  No.  I respect our men and women in blue.
  • Peace under pressure.  Bingo! at least for me.  I kept cool while I pushed my car up a hill on the side of a busy expressway in a bad neighborhood, at night.  I knew that no matter what happened God was in control.  He knew I had a little known skill that would get me out of the jam I was in.
The real moral of the story was that I was never alone!  God was there and He gave me peace in my storm. 
Hebrews 13:5 NIV 5 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you;never will I forsake you.” 6 So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?”t
Leave a Reply

