Leave a comment

‘Whore’ Pregnancy Card Cause Stir, What Do You Think? | TheBlaze.com

‘Whore’ Pregnancy Card Cause Stir, What Do You Think? | TheBlaze.com.

I love humor.  I tend to think if it’s funny, it’s funny.  While I didn’t laugh at this card it didn’t anger me either.  I would not expect to find it in a Target, and I would not want to try to explain the meaning of the word “Whore” to my six-year-old if he picked up off the floor and read it aloud in the isle.   I might bring that to the attention of the manager.

This led me to thinking about what crosses the line when it comes to humor.  Here are a couple of things for me that cross the line.

  1. Demeaning It’s not funny when it is demeaning.
  2. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION It’s not funny exposing children to adult humor.  As for Target, I would say that if you sell toys to infants you shouldn’t sell greeting cards with the word ‘Whore’ in them.  They brought this on themselves.

I can understand how this card might be funny to close friends or even a couple.  Context is also important.  The same card could be devastating if given to a young teenage soon-to-be mother.

I hope you have humor in your life.  My wife April is one of the funniest people I know and she makes some of the though things in life more bearable.  Thanks honey.

Leave a Reply

