Leave a comment

Jobs Careers And Labors Of Love

Does it matter if you are looking for a job or a career?  I love working with kids and have done so for more than 15 years, but I don’t get paid for it.  Should that matter?  Does it matter if you are in what you might consider a job or career?  While I think it does, it is the mindset and not the vocation that really matters.  We no longer live in an era where people work for the same company from the time they leave school until they retire.  We find ourselves changing employers several times before we retire.  You might completely change occupations.  Some will sit in the same desk for thirty years but have their paycheck signed by different employers due to mergers or buyouts.  The line between CAREER and JOB is in the eye of the beholder more than ever.

In many ways our work defines us.  This is especially true of men.  Men always ask, “what do you do?”  They are referring to your employment.  We need to depart from this way of thinking.  It is not healthy and is becoming more so in an economic environment in which we may have to work in fields way outside our passion or education.  A healthier outlook would be to work towards your passion regardless of who signs your paycheck.  Begin to think of your career as the body of work you consider a labor of love.  While you might have to still have a “job” to pay the bills.  I see myself as a minister even though I am not on staff at a church.  It is my labor of love.  In the last month I crossed over the 500 mark of people who receive my blog.  I don’t draw a paycheck from it.  When I started writing I had the mindset that I was going to write even if no one read it.  Labors of love are often jobs we would do for free if we could not find anyone to pay us.

What matters most when it comes to work is the body of work.  All of it.  The next time someone asks you what you do feel free to tell them “I work in a cube from Monday to Friday to pay the bills, but what I love is _____________. 

Leave a Reply

