Leave a comment

I Could Never Love A God Who Would…

If you’re reading this you’ve heard someone say I couldn’t love a God who…? 

  • Kills little children
  • Allows people like Hitler to exist.
  • Is against gay marriage.
  • Is for gay marriage.
  • And so on.

Even while in Bible College I heard these things. So, if you’ve heard them or said them God won’t be shocked. Everyone questions God. The problem lies in when we tell God he needs to act according to our world view. God won’t do that, and He won’t apologize to you for his actions. Job went through hell on earth. When he questioned God God said

“Where were you when I created the earth? Tell me, since you know so much!”  Job 38:4

God goes on asking questions of Job for the next several chapters. Here are some of the highlights.

“Now what do you have to say for yourself? Are you going to haul me, the Mighty One, into court and press charges?” Job 40:2

“Do you presume to tell me what I’m doing wrong? Are you calling me a sinner so you can be a saint? Job 40:8

 “Who could confront me and get by with it? I’m in charge of all this – I run this universe!” Job 41:11

Give credit to Job. He gets smart and replies.

1 Job answered God: 2 “I’m convinced: You can do anything and everything. Nothing and no one can upset your plans. 3 You asked, ‘Who is this muddying the water, ignorantly confusing the issue, second-guessing my purposes?’ I admit it. I was the one. I babbled on about things far beyond me, made small talk about wonders way over my head. 4 You told me, ‘Listen, and let me do the talking. Let me ask the questions. You give the answers.’ Job 42:1-4

I’ve been reading through Erasing Hell by Francis Chan.  It wasn’t what I had expected.  I see people jumping on the famous preacher bandwagon’s all the time. I don’t want to get caught up in that. I usually wait a few years before checking them out. If they are still going strong there might be something to what they’re saying.

I still have three chapters to go but the book takes on different opinions of hell. People typically either don’t want to discuss hell, or they seem to take a fire and brimstone approach to the subject. Chan essentially takes the opinion that hell exists, it’s eternal, and you don’t want to go there.

I wanted to mention Chan and his book to give him credit. This post is based on some of what I gleaned from chapter six.

Leave a Reply

